Home > ACS LAW Letters > ACS:LAW Abroad? All Greek to me – or “Smells like Bullshit”

ACS:LAW Abroad? All Greek to me – or “Smells like Bullshit”

Life is sometimes strange, would I ever write a Blog Post actually agreeing with Copyright Troll Andrew Crossley? Well read the rest of the Blog and decide that one.

On this post though I have to say I have been dealt a raw deal.  I DO agree with him, sort of.  After a rather enigmatic email from the BBC this week seemingly asking me for my opinion on a story they had regarding ACS:LAW setting up abroad, I responded by asking the sender to send me more details, they didn’t, the next I heard was today when the forums and media seemed to blow a rather damp squib well out of proportion.

Ralli it seems after doing a rather wonderful job of settling the cases that ACS:LAW had brought against 27 filesharers stated that they had been contacted by someone in Greece, telling them that they had received an email from ACS:LAW demanding payment for copyright infringement.

My Bullshit detector exploded as did the news, for me Computeractives Dinah Greek and PC Pros Nicole Kobie are two who have come out of this fiasco smelling of roses, the rest with the exception of Josh Halliday of the Guardian have come out smelling of what you fertilise the roses with especially the BBC. The email can be seen here

Now A cursory look at this would tell you, not even CROSSLEY could have screwed up like this. Firstly 18 Hanover Square does not even exist anymore, Josh Halliday of the Guardian popped down to “Doorstep” ACS:LAW and found a big hole where No 18 once stood. So I am guessing that IF this email is true, then their must be some kind of re-direction for anyone who sends the money. I have to say I smell bullshit on this issue. 

Ralli went on to issue statements to various friendly people, (Not me though), stating It was “advising clients” on the letters, but then Ralli solicitor Michael Forrester said “we may be dealing with an imposter”. No Shit, seems pretty obvious from the start.

Andrew Crossley responded to PC PRO

 “This is obviously a scam. I am reporting the matter to the police…it is not a demand made by me and it is quite clear from the way it was written that it was not.”

Well see Ralli and the BBC have put me in a situation of actually agreeing with the portly one. Crossley went on to say, he was

“shocked and surprised” that Ralli Solicitors “would be so gullible as to be taken in by such an obviously fake communication as to suggest I was in any way connected with it”.

Well dammit Crossley I agree with you again! According to PC PRO, Crossley questioned why the firm would contact the BBC with the story “rather than pick up the phone to ask me directly” Well I have to say I half agree with him on that, I would never expect Crossley to be straight with me, indeed I wouldn’t discuss the colour of an orange with him, HOWEVER he makes a good point, of WHY did the BBC not follow it up with emails to either this Blog or the Slyck Forums, or BeingThreatened you know the ones who have generally led the charge against ACS:LAW,  we have after all helped them out in the past.

Indeed I have asked Ralli to supply the actual email headers for authenticity, I am expecting the response that I am so used to now after sending Lawyers information, “we are bound by confidentiality and have to be careful what is said”

Something I think I need to bear in mind next time someone wants information from ME. I consider the BBC and the various Law firms as “Black holes”, when they want information they ask and out of kindness we give it, free of charge, and using our time, when we want information from them ….nothing. I will have to remember the mantra that is spoken AFTER they have received the information…..”we are bound by confidentiality and have to be careful what is said”

It has come to this, I actually agree with Andrew Crossley, I find it VERY hard to believe that the BBC and Ralli could be duped so easily as this.

 

UPDATE 1: Seems like the BBC has had a change of heart….Hmmmm Multi Million pound corporation screws up, penniless Bloggers get it right!

How it was:

Pirate chasing firm moves abroad
BBC News
ACS:Law, the controversial law firm that tried to get money from people by accusing … Ralli Solicitors, which represented some of those accused by ACS:Law …

And how it is now:

 BBC News – Lawyer denies Greek piracyscam

21 Jul 2011 – A lawyer whose firm demanded money from alleged illegal downloaders in the United Kingdom has denied re-starting the scheme in Greece.

  1. July 21, 2011 at 7:43 pm | #1

    I saw many con artists pretending to be legitimate persons, but a scammer pretending to be another scammer…. meta-scammer. Yet that wasn’t unexpected.

  2. Jack
    July 22, 2011 at 8:54 am | #2

    It’s an obvious scam, however some naive people could still be frightened into paying up which is the same business plan Crossley was using. The IP addresses aren’t shown and I wonder if the IP addresses are actually correct for the letter recipients or if they are randomly generated. Somebody on a fixed IP might be able to answer that question.
    Something else to consider….. are the Greek email recipients private details on the spread sheets which were exposed in the ACS:Law leak or have these demands come out of the blue ?

  3. August 28, 2012 at 8:22 pm | #3

    Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo
    News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

